Republic of Serbia



State flag of Serbia



Location map of Serbia

A virtual guide to Serbia, the former core republic of Yugoslavia is now a landlocked country in the central part of the <u>Balkan Peninsula</u> in Southeastern Europe. It is bordered by four of the six former Yugoslavian socialist republics, <u>Bosnia and Herzegovina</u>, <u>Croatia</u>, <u>Republic of Macedonia</u>, and <u>Montenegro</u>. It shares also borders with <u>Albania</u>, <u>Bulgaria</u>, <u>Hungary</u>, and <u>Romania</u>.

The country covers an <u>area</u> of 77,474 km² (excluding Kosovo), this is about the size of the <u>Czech</u> <u>Republic</u>, or slightly smaller than US state of <u>South Carolina</u>.

Serbia has a <u>population</u> of 7.2 million people (in 2016), capital and largest city is <u>Belgrade</u> (pop. 1.6 million), official <u>language</u> is Serbian written in Cyrillic.

Republic of Serbia Srbija	Country Profile
Background: The Kingdom of Serbs, Croats, and Slovenes was formed in 1918; its name was changed to Yugoslavia in 1929. Serbia was formerly the political and cultural center of Yugoslavia, today it is the northern remain of the former State Union of Serbia and Montenegro.	Official Name: Republika Srbija short form: Srbija int'l long form: Republic of Serbia <u>ISO Country Code</u> : changed from yu to rs

In 2006 Montenegro voted, after a referendum in favor of independence, to leave the State Union. So Serbia has been obliged to officially proclaim its independence on 5 June 2006, as the successor state to the State Union of Serbia and Montenegro.

In February 2008, after nearly two years of inconclusive negotiations, Kosovo, Serbia's southern province and a disputed territory, declared itself independent of Serbia - but Serbia refuses to recognize it.

In April 2013 Serbia and Kosovo signed the first agreement of principles governing the normalization of relations between the two countries.

Serbia has an ambitious goal of joining the EU by 2020. In January 2014 Serbia opened formal negotiations with the EU for accession.

Official Sites of Serbia

Serbia is a parliamentary republic with a unicameral parliament, the *Narodna Skupština* (general assembly). The government is divided into the usual three branches, a legislative (the parliament), an executive (government) and the judiciary. Head of state is the president. The president is elected by popular vote every five years. Head of the government is the prime minister. He is appointed by the president.) Actual Time: **Mon-July-31 00:45** Local Time = <u>UTC</u> +1h Daylight Saving Time (DST) March - October (UTC +2)

Country Calling Code: +381

Capital Cities: <u>Belgrade</u> (Beograd)

Other Cities: Pancevo, Novi Pazar, Uzice, Novi Sad, Subotica, Bor, Nis.

Government:

Type: Republic. Constitution: Adopted 27 April 1992. Independence: 5 June 2006 (from Serbia and Montenegro) Montenegro's declaration of independence on 3 June 2006, the parliament of Serbia declared that it was the successor state to the union of Serbia and Montenegro, rendering the two republics independent and sovereign countries. 11 April 1992 (Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (F.R.Y.)

4 February 2003, the F.R.Y. parliament adopted a new Constitutional Charter establishing the state union of Serbia and Montenegro.

Geography:

Location: Landlocked country in the central part of the Balkan Peninsula

between Macedonia and Hungary in Southeastern Europe. <u>Area</u>: 77,474 km² (29,912 sq.

mi.); figures does not include Kosovo. Terrain: Varied; rich fertile plains in the north; limestone ranges and basins in the east; mountains and hills in the southeast.

Climate: Continental, with a gradual transition between the four seasons (worm summers, with temperatures up to 30°C and cool, snowy winters, with temperatures from - 5°C to 10°C).

People:

Nationality: : Noun--Serb(s); adjective--Serbian. Population: 7.2 million (2016) Ethnic Groups: Serbs (66%), 37 other nationalities: (Albanians 17%, Montenegrin 5%, Hungarians 3,5 %, followed by Romanians, Croats, Bulgarians and others) Religions: Main religion is Christian Ortodox 65%, Muslim 19%, Roman Catholic 4%, Protestant 1%, other. Languages: Serbian (official,

<u>Languages</u>: Serbian (official, official alphabet is Cyrillic as well as Latin); Romanian, Hungarian, Slovak, and Croatian (all official in Vojvodina province);

Albanian (Shqip, official in Kosovo) Literacy: 96%

Natural resources: Oil, gas, coal, iron ore, copper, lead, zinc, antimony, chromite, nickel, gold, silver, magnesium, pyrite, limestone, marble, salt, arable land.

Agriculture

products: Wheat, maize, sugar beets, sunflower, beef, pork, milk.

Industries: Sugar, agricultural machinery, electrical and communication equipment, paper and pulp, lead, transportation equipment.

Exports - commodities: iron and steel, rubber, clothes, wheat, fruit and vegetables, nonferrous metals, electric appliances, metal products, weapons and ammunition, automobiles.

<u>Currency:</u> Serbian dinar (RSD); note - in Kosovo both the Euro and the Serbian dinar are legal.